Sick Kids and Birthdays

pinchot kids

Today is my birthday. It was a lovely day filled with cute kids and a wonderful husband.  We ate breakfast at a restaurant, took a hike at the lake, enjoyed plenty of sunshine, and dined on a seafood dinner on our deck.  My husband and children even made me an endearingly messy, homemade cake and presented me with handmade cards and a gift.  As they huddled around me to help blow out the candles, my heart was just so full. That is the only way I can think of to explain it.

I truly could not have asked for a better day.

However, in the wee hours of the morning,  I wasn’t sure it would be so spectacular. I was jolted out of sleep when my daughter cried her way into my room.  I soon found myself cleaning up after a sick child. As I gagged my way through stripping the bed and cleaning her off, I glanced at the clock and realized it was 12:30 am. I was officially a year older. Starting a new year of my life with rags and cleaning products in my hand was not quite what I had envisioned.

After I changed my girl into new Minnie Mouse pajamas, I tucked her into her clean princess sheets and gave her a kiss on the cheek. She turned to me with frightened eyes and asked, “Will you stay with me to make me feel better?”

So, of course, I climbed into her bed and cuddled up next to her.  She didn’t want the lights out, so I watched her fall asleep as she snuggled close to me.  I felt the slight rise and fall of her body as she breathed in and out. I stroked her blonde hair as I felt her soft breath on the side of my neck.

I slowly drifted back to sleep as I thought to myself … Not the worst way to start a new year of life, after all.

 

 

 

 

6 thoughts on “Sick Kids and Birthdays

Leave a Reply

