Music Therapy: A Lesson of Hope

Today, I am honored to have a piece published on The HerStories Project titled “The Healing Notes of Song.”  It’s an essay about my experience watching my sister recover from a brain hemorrhage when she was only 14. This experience changed my life in so many ways, including how I raise my own children.

While in the hospital, my sister participated in several music therapy sessions, which I was able to attend with her. The music was often mixed with a great deal of pain and sadness, but mostly there was hope. That hope still resonates with me today.

Please click HERE if you would like to read the article and more about music therapy.

me-and-em Above is a picture of me and my sister on her wedding day, just over a year ago.  It took place in Nashville and was filled with songs and guitars and ended in the honky tonks on Broadway.

Music filled the air.

emmawedding.jpg

 

 

Leave a Reply

