Lessons from Kindergarten

booksNext week, I register my little girl for kindergarten! I can’t believe it. My son currently attends kindergarten, so I’ve been thinking a lot about what the year will hold for her … and me.

One of my favorite things about this year has been watching my son learn to read. We are currently in the early stages, but it really is quite magical watching it all come together. Here is an excerpt from my recent article published on Parent.co describing part of the experience:

I may have read the word ‘the’ a million times in all of his bedtime stories, but up until this pivotal moment, it meant nothing to him. But now? Now, words were jumping off the pages, waving their hands in invitation, and pulling my son into a whole new world.

Click the following link to my Parent.co article to hear about what else I’ve witnessed and learned this year as a kindergarten parent:  What Sending Your Kid to Kindergarten Can Teach You.

Leave a comment here, on the article, or hop on over to my facebook page (One Mile Smile). I would love to hear what kindergarten stories you have!

Thanks for reading!  Feel free to share with a future kindergarten parent. Maybe it will make the process a tad easier for them. 

 

 

Leave a Reply

